You Only Know Who You Think I Am

a_northern_light_cover

Poetically cunning

words leaving brains and hearts humming

and while you’re eager to read on

you only know who you think I am

late night writes with Pete Wentz in my ears

in attempt to ward off nightmarish fears

but I put on a smile to cover it up

so you only know who you think I am

work is mental drudgery, and family is worse

but my good moods come in spurts

they think I’m okay

but you only know who you think I am

inside I feel like I’m dying

and this week wants to make me stop trying

but I don’t tell you what’s really going on

and you only know who you think I am

I stand in the pouring rain

there’s little I like better

but you think I’m insane

and I let you believe who you think I am

I sit by myself, I have no friends

hell, it takes me ten minutes just to press send

you think I’m antisocial and crude

stupid world, you only know who you think I am

I write everyday

to reveal everything

and nothing

to make you think you know who I am

I am depressed, anxious, angry, and dejected

broken, shy, disheartened, and rejected

failure makes me afraid to try again

socially I have to pretend

I hope I’m not like this forever

because there’s gotta be someone out there

I just haven’t met her

or I did

and I failed her

(now I’m regretting everything again)

you no longer have to guess, now

you know who I really am

 

30 Replies to “You Only Know Who You Think I Am”

  1. I love this poem.. your feelings are very raw and maybe that is what makes you a great writer like me .. you write from your pain.. Stay Strong my friend..

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, *snaps fingers* I really like this and can relate. “and I let you believe who you think I am
    I sit by myself, I have no friends
    hell, it takes me ten minutes just to press send
    you think I’m antisocial and crude
    stupid world, you only know who you think I am
    I write everyday
    to reveal everything
    and nothing
    to make you think you know who I am” is where it relates to me most and is my favorite part✨

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great poem!
    I have been blogging for almost a year. As I thought back over the past nine months, I was amazed at how many pieces of myself I have shared. Those who have followed my posts from the beginning really know a lot about me, but there is always more to tell.
    Keep sharing yourself with us!!
    Dwight

    Liked by 1 person

I'm interested in hearing what you have to say

