Autism Awareness Month Post Twenty-One: I Do It For My Family, My Autistic Family

wamtac

Each day I come in

and don my white apron

smile, and polite greetings

I step to the demons

and grit my broken teeth

leave them seething

each day I make change

empty powder-covered trays

and laugh at Mary’s favorite team

and their horrible receivers

I step to the establishment

and stab them in the face

out of shy autistics I make believers

every tip received

and check cashed

shows them how far I’ve come

I’ve aged pretty fast

not in years, really

but in confidence

in determination

and in courage

I don’t carry a chip on these shoulders

I carry the dead of Mount Everest

and quiet should your expectations stay

lest you trigger my sensitivity

and cause me to uncloak

the dreaded focus and commitment

that the profession continues to revoke

I work for my family

my autistic family

the ones with moths on their web pages

and female warriors, too

“Aspergian’s can’t work in customer service”

if only you knew

that I do it

to prove you wrong

I dance to the beat of my hand-flapping

foot-tapping

tell-tale autistic drum

and marching in the opposite direction

eventually gets you noticed

and soon others are eager

to sing along

 

16 thoughts on “Autism Awareness Month Post Twenty-One: I Do It For My Family, My Autistic Family”

  1. I am an aspie, too, devereaux.

    And, I can attest, that indeed, aspergian’s do thrive in customer service, contrary to ignorant beliefs that we are somehow “less than” or limited. We are no more limited than those with other “limitations.”

    I’ve just been introduced to your work today. I look forward to more to come. You’re unstoppable, sir. πŸ™‚

    In case you’re so inclined…the poem I am linking came from that part of myself, that even at 40, I haven’t found a way to announce my “condition” to the world. I do so admire your bravery.

    https://silentfall.me/2017/04/20/whoreified/

    Like

    1. Hello, fellow aspie! Thanks to whoever introduced me to you, and thank you for stopping by πŸ™‚ Bravery takes different forms for everyone, so I never felt the need or rush to announce it. Thank you for sharing πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. The idea that there’s a stereotype for waiting on customers…. well, I’m glad you’re not letting that stop you. Customer’s will need to adjust. … and besides it’s the product that they’re really after…. their mouths are already watering. You haven’t taken them away from their craving.

    thanks,

    Liked by 1 person

I'm interested in hearing what you have to say

