Autism Awareness Month Post Nine: Saying Thanks To My Blogger Community

WAMTAC

Until I discovered myself as a writer. Until I discovered my voice as an Aspergian poet. Until I realized the story I had to tell, I didn’t know who I was, what I was here for, and what life really meant. I was lost, but the blogging community became my home, and over the last year and a half, I’ve done a lot of growing up. I’ve taken a stand on various topics, and I’ve grown closer to other people with my condition. I wouldn’t have done it without you.

Michelle, you’ve been like a friend to me

and Tenacity, the funniest the Internet ever did see

Jonathan’s energy knows no bounds

and The Secret Poetess always comes around

Wallace Peach is sweeter than any fruit

And Nyx’s support makes the sadness moot

Marisa, Laina, and Beth

you’re the best writers I’ve ever known

and the grace, kindness, and tenacity you own

can’t be measured

and to Anna, anonymous as you may be

you give us a taste of the autistic reality

like the words of Charlie Zero and Sarah

Fantasy and Samantha

I’d hope to write like them

but that road is long

Alicia, Esther, Elm, Bethany

Emily, Ana, Monika, Anita

while I haven’t gotten to meet ya

I’m touched by the words you share

and I’ll never be normal

but for a moment, you take me there

to Brian Cook, I see how a man

should treat his wife

and I’m proud of you, as a soldier and a husband

that you know how to do it right

to Davy D, who with me from the start

and Rosema, sharing her beautiful heart

and hey Brian, your Packers

need a running back

and take a baseball bat to your defense

Belen, you shake up the sequence

of poetry on my reader

from the thought provoking work

of doubtpuppe, Jacob, and braveandreckless

to the fantastic imagery

of Dorinda, Sascha, and Jeanne

to my fans at Secret First Draft,

along with Daria, Heartafire, Jasper

Phobe, Denise, John Coyote, Katrina

your determination

is my inspiration

to be the best poet I can be

and every night

a little bit of my appreciation

is plain to see

and last, but certainly not least

is a gorgeous girl I have yet to meet

I thank my lucky stars for us crossing paths

cause you excite me more than anyone ever has

 

You all just don’t know how helpful you’ve been to me, and I’m so grateful to have people like you in my life, even if we are just behind computer screens.

 

19 thoughts on “Autism Awareness Month Post Nine: Saying Thanks To My Blogger Community”

  1. Devereaux, thank you. It has been a pleasure to read and see you develop as a poet. Your writing and poetry have provided an honest and no holds barred insight into your journey. Hopefully we can keep walking it with you well into the future.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The truth of energy has no physical form so we may never see, touch or even hear each other in this blogging community but we connect.. much love and blessings wished to you dear friend😊

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Don’t I know it about are defense. Also thanks for the kind words. Honestly I have not always been the best husband, but I still don’t think I am but I try every day to be that and a good father. Keep up the good work and know that your writing is making a difference.

    Liked by 1 person

I'm interested in hearing what you have to say

