Escaping The Silent Wave Of Anxiety and Struggles With People

zerozero

 

Fell into bed, tired as could be

not from back-breaking work

but my Aspergian brain, you see

as an introvert, people tire me

and as courteous as I try to be

there are some days

where my pillow is all I want

I can walk for miles and miles

without breaking a sweat

but one too many people

and my nerves tingle

with an anxious fret

hard countenance

begins to melt from electric pain

and thoughts start racing

leaving dusty tread along these tracks

and all sensibilities desert in a manic frenzy

as if I were insane

there are some days

where I’ll do nothing but write

until I struggle to see anything

not lit with a computer back light

each word is a demon smitten

and each line is an apple bitten

in defiance of God and man

don’t eat this fruit, too late

I’m already on my third plate

I have no one, no one who knows these fears

I have no one, no one who sees these scars

they’re for me

and me alone

so I close myself up

inside my dusty home

like the Cancer that I am

I bury my head in the sand

and sleep away the days

until I’m ready

to walk that way

 

3 Replies to “Escaping The Silent Wave Of Anxiety and Struggles With People”

I'm interested in hearing what you have to say

