Recollections Of Youthful Corrections And What They Mean Now

0a68427850562eaa340906552816dbac

 

Say thank you

or please

Don’t forget to use a fork

when eating your broccoli and peas

Why are you tapping your feet

Stop making that sound

Why do you get so quiet

when she comes around

Why aren’t you listening

can’t you hear what I say

You ignore me, constantly

every single day

Why did you fail this test

when you claim to be better than the rest

And why can’t you sleep through the night

there’s something wrong, you’re not right

Why do always want to stay home

only weirdos want to be alone

Devereaux, look at me

your mood swings are driving me crazy

Me, me, me

but not you, you, you

if you paid attention

these symptoms wouldn’t seem new

My body is collateral damage

of a brains hostile takeover

and just seventeen years in

the course is hardly over

Sure I could do drugs

and calm the tension

Sign me up to snort some lines

off a prostitute’s ass

but what example would that be

to others on my path

So I do math

the best I can

and at making friends

I’m just another also-ran

But I write like hell

and on my thoughts you dwell

so that, like me

you can fight the bias and insecurity

that those on the spectrum face

we may be slower

be we’re still running this race

 

23 thoughts on “Recollections Of Youthful Corrections And What They Mean Now”

  1. I don’t see where those with Asperger’s are slower. Your minds are quick as a whip and the creativity flows. Social issues are a problem for many not affected by it. I struggled to do math throughout school, but that’s not my strong suit and neither is it yours. That doesn’t make us slower. We just have different assets.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your poem – conveys how frustrating the useless phrases are because the meaning does not connect with the neuro-atypical brain. And yet as a classroom teacher I have said some of those reminders too many times. Oh that I had even a sliver of insight into the neuro-atypical brain when I started teaching.
    Each of your poems is like a glimpse of one facet of the asperger diamond. A brain that reflects reality in a different way.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. I have submitted a workshop proposal to a teacher’s federation of about 800 members. My proposal has been accepted to be presented at a key time slot in their 2 day event. My topic is to share with teachers what it is like to live as a neurologically atypical person. I then want to challenge them in looking at how that translates into the classroom when they have neuro-atypical students under their care. Many of the classroom practices are counter productive for these students. I hope to give them some tools to work with to address the needs of such students.

        Now here’s my request. You can do this as a blog post or you can send it just to me.
        Request: What would you want to say to classroom teachers if you had the opportunity. You can put it into poem form or any other form you decide. Convey how a teacher can either contribute to a child’s failure or at best some additional challenges. Or you could convey to a teacher how they can create a classroom environment that helps neuro-atypical students succeed.
        I would love to be able to share that , giving you credit for something that I didn’t experience growing up as I am dealing with a later in life ABI.

        Like

          1. A conference like this takes advance planning. I have till mid October to prepare. I will need the time to think it through on how to create a workable picture. I see in your poems glimpses that would bring understanding to those who are wanting to understand. One challenge for me is, will I have the endurance for a 90 minute presentation. Don’t want my neural fatigue to become the case in point.

            Liked by 1 person

I'm interested in hearing what you have to say

