A Short Story Of Crooked Systems And Broken Bones

zerozero

Forced down the hallway

Lights flickering at every step

My wrists sway

in the clutches of the officers at my side

Turning right, I’m shoved towards a table

into a seat feeling deathly cold

A man in a black man suit asks if I’m able

to answer questions. He is so warm

with a gleaming smile on his face

he seems to have

my same salivatating taste

for the truth

“Stephen, what happened in that house?”

he asks me presently

“We came upon arrival young mother with a bloody child upon her blouse.”

A pause. “You were downstairs, yet claimed to hear nothing?”

“I know nothing.” I begin to say.

“I heard a scream and dashed upstairs, to find her already gone.”

“To say this was me, there is no way!”

But the white suited man rose a grizzled hand.

Then how did Tricie die, there was no one else.”

“You are the only possible suspect.”

“Spare me the lies. Stop trying to protect yourself.”

“Think of the memory of your wife, Stephen.”

“I’m still thinking about her this very second!”

“Tricie was my wife, my eyes, and my beating heart!”

“Your accusations will not lessen…”

“even the faintest memory of her, written on my hand.”

“Please don’t speak of the memory of my wife.”

“You only know signatures and suited thieves.”

“And fame, and for your work, a pretty price.”

“My Tricie was priceless.”

The man left me alone

shuffling his feet out the door

leaving me to wish of a home

where Tricie would be

22 Replies to “A Short Story Of Crooked Systems And Broken Bones”

          1. You will make it work. You are so smart. And you are getting support here. If you need a friend I’m here for you. I’m older than you but I really understood a lot of what you say. ❤️ you don’t give yourself enough credit.

            Like

          2. Thank you Shelia. 🙂
            People around me say “I need friends”, but I just can’t make ’em work out. I guess I need to do more work on myself, first.
            I don’t give myself enough credit mostly because I don’t feel like I’m doing anything special. I’m trust trying to help others and progress as a writer. Maybe others disagree, but that’s just how I feel.

            Liked by 1 person

          3. dev stop it dude – your writing is great – its artistic- like I said some people are going to like it and some people won’t – it’s like a painter I love Salvador Dali – not everyone does. Just because some people don’t like it – doesn’t make it less great to me . See what I mean ??

            Like

I'm interested in hearing what you have to say

