#OcPoWiMo Day Thirty Prompt: Simplicity, an Onda Mel

a_northern_light_cover

( Check out my Day Twenty Nine prompt here: https://marylandpoetblog.wordpress.com/2016/10/30/ocpowrimo-day-twenty-nine-prompt-upside-down/)

Walking through the darkening night

Going off dreams

Not what it seems

Simplicity becomes a fright

 

When you cannot see your way home

When paths are gone

When paths are long

When you’re finding yourself alone

 

33

The Onda Mel is an invented verse form introduced by Renelda Gibson.

The Onda Mel is:

  • an octastich, a poem in 8 lines made up of 2 quatrains.
  • syllabic, 8-4-4-8-8-4-4-8 syllables per line.
  • rhymed abba cddc.

 

13 thoughts on “#OcPoWiMo Day Thirty Prompt: Simplicity, an Onda Mel”

  1. You did a beautiful job with this…and may I say that having read your About, I applaud your courage and strength in finding a creative way to live with/work around your issue(s). It’s tough enough being a teenager, and having more tossed on top would overwhelm most people. So I’m glad you’re here among us other writers, all with our own issues–I’m 64 and deal with depression/anxiety and what I call “mercurial moods”, i.e., I’m considered a “difficult person”. I write like crazy…and some days I feel crazy–but I have my faith and I’ve developed a good sense of humor. As I’m sure you’ve heard, life is what we make it. We all have gifts to share, so I repeat–I’m glad you’re here with other poets where there’s a lot of support, people to relate with, and plenty of fun. Oh and one more thing, I have distant ties to Baltimore–late mother and grandmother–but don’t ask for details, as I have none πŸ™‚ Have a blessed week!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for taking the time to read and reflect. I’m glad when people are able to talk about their issues outright or otherwise, because it helps us relieve the stress we have. Moodiness and being considered a difficult person is a common part of life this side of the keyboard, but like you, life is what we make of it. Hope you have a great day too.

      Like

      1. I believe strongly that Everyone–regardless of how “normal” they think they are–would be better off choosing to be authentic and genuine. It frustrates me to the max when folks are not–they don’t see it as a kind of deceit, but it’s hard to reach any level of real connection when people practice “well mannered superficiality”–drives me crazy. You’re probably regretting you opened the door to me by now! My excuse for the excessive chattiness is that I have not yet slept–will go to bed soon! Apologies, if I’ve upset you in any way. Take care.

        Liked by 2 people

        1. No need to apologize. I understand you completely, although as an Aspergian (and many others like me would agree) we often try to be someone else to “fit” in a world that only accepts “normal” people.

          Like

I'm interested in hearing what you have to say

