Catching Up

 

33

I just found out about this on one of my favorite blogs, and I realized I had to do it. I’ve always hated writing prompts, but this is the first time I’ve seen a poetry prompt and I thought I’d try it out. Feedback is greatly accepted since this is something new I’m doing and I’d to like to hear from other poets. I’m four days behind, I’m going to post four poems in this post and then one each day. (Unless I get behind again. Hopefully not.)

Time to

take the ashes

of our love, remnants be damned

Temporary was our loving

Temporary was our living

 

The void

leading to death

was like nothing, so peaceful

You knew you were going quickly

and you were too eager to slit

 

Sparkling so

brightly, eyes so

green there is none more lovely

mature stature so becoming

To have you, I think I would kill

 

Purple

bruises on skin

from man you loved hitting

you in the face and taking life

from the once lively girl you were

 

 

Pensee found in the Caulkins Handbook stresses exact syllable count and strong end words. This invented verse form was first introduced by American poet and educator, Alice Spokes. It can be found on line at Instant Poetry Forms for Kids

The Pensee is:

  • a pentastich, a poem in 5 lines.
  • syllabic, 2-4-7-8-8 syllables per line.
  • unrhymed.
  • titled

(I found this prompt on one of my favorite blogs, https://areadingwritr.wordpress.com/)

5 thoughts on “Catching Up”

I'm interested in hearing what you have to say

