Speckle of light: A poem on love in the face of death

zerozero

You lit a fire in my eyes,

my morning star

You kept me warm at night,

my evening star

You were awe-inspiring,

my sunshine

You carried me when I was weak,

my angel

And lifted me to greater heights,

my wings

But tonight I bow before you,

this box bereft of broken and bloody bruises bewildering

Why did you jump? Why?

I could have caught you, I could have…

No, you weren’t bound to me,

so you flew

You were all around me,

my halo,

and all I have left is a speckle of light

3 thoughts on “Speckle of light: A poem on love in the face of death”

I'm interested in hearing what you have to say

